#### TUITION WAIVER PROGRAM SUMMARY

A waiver of tuition is and education benefit provided by the Commonwealth of Kentucky in recognition of military service of Kentucky veterans. The tuition waiver is provided for children, stepchildren, adopted children, spouses, and unremarried widows & widowers. An approved tuition waiver means a student may attend any two-year, four-years schools or vocational technical schools that are operated and funded by the Kentucky Department of Education.

You may qualify if one of the following is true of the veteran:

- *Died on active duty.*
- Died as a direct result of a service connected disability as determined by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
- 100% service connected disabled.
- Veteran must be a current resident of Kentucky or was a resident at the time of death.
- Totally disabled (non-service connected) with wartime service.

  Upon the death of any veteran who served during a wartime period.

There are four (4) statutes under which an applicant may qualify. They are KRS 164.505, KRS 164.507, KRS 164.512 and KRS 164.515.

## KRS 164.505

Applicant may be eligible if veteran was killed in action during a wartime period or died as a result of a service-connected disability incurred while serving during a wartime period provided the veteran's home of record upon entry into the Armed Forces was the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Applicant is eligible to get undergraduate/graduate degrees. There is no age or time limit on the waiver.

### KRS 164.507

Dependents of deceased Kentucky Veterans may be eligible for 45 months of training until they receive a degree; or training until their twenty-sixth (26) birthday whichever comes first. There is no age limit for the un-remarried widow or widower.

#### KRS 164.512

Child of a veteran who acquired a disability due to the veteran's service. (Spina Bifida)

# KRS 164.515

Applicant may be eligible if the veteran is permanently and totally disabled for pension purposes or one hundred percent (100%) disabled for compensation purposes by the United States Veterans Administration or the Department of Defense for 45 months of training or until they receive a degree; or training until their twenty-sixth (26) birthday whichever comes first. There is no age limit for the spouse.

Appropriate Documentation to be attached to application (if not attached application will be deferred):

- A. Birth Certificate
- **B.** Marriage Certificate
- C. Disability Award Letter
- D. If veteran is deceased please include a copy of the Death Certificate
- E. DD 214 (Veterans Discharge Papers)

Please include all necessary documents when submitting your application for Tuition Benefits. Incomplete applications may result in long delays or possible denials. For information concerning the Tuition Waiver Program, please contact the Kentucky Department of Veterans Affairs at 1-800-928-4012 or 502-595-4447.